Real talk- nursing friendly styling

Ok yes, there are many brands that sell tops and dresses specifically for nursing. But 1) most of them aren’t modest enough for me (I need covered elbows, higher neck line) and 2) I’m not diggin’ their style (think weird drapey things). So I set out to find pieces that I can wear/hack that work for breastfeeding out and about.

I found that I either need a good tank underneath OR a sweater/jacket to avoid showing lots of your back or stomach even when wearing a nursing cover up (I love this one from Bebe us Lait in case your wondering)

Here are a few of my favorite finds:

Basic nursing tank with build in bra- Bravado Dream Nursing Tank
This bad boy comes in bra sizes so the fit is much better than your usual S,M,L. They come in key basic colors and the fabric is a nice mix of stretch and a soft cottony feel. Yes, there are tons of compression tanks on the market. And maybe that’s your thing. But at this point in my life, comfort rules the day.

The best part about this tank is you can throw it under any shirt you have and the outfit instantly becomes more nursing friendly.
Screen Shot 2017-06-28 at 9.30.50 AM

Bravado also makes an awesome nursing bra while we’re on the subject.

All purpose lightweight cardigan- Alex & Harry Cascade
This is perfect for the summer because it is so lightweight yet the fabric isn’t sheer. I literally could wear this every day with every outfit I have. If you check out the link, apparently you can style it 4 ways. But I am just happy wearing it like you would a sweater. Again, it provides great back and side coverage when I am using my nursing cover up.
Worth noting I look a lot happier in the cardigan this is sad model.

Screen Shot 2017-06-28 at 9.28.53 AM

And you don’t need me to show you regular t-shirts and dresses out there. But below are a few of my favorites. Lately I’ve been into more of a vintage vibe (click on image for details).  And the dress was a fantastic find- modest cut and buttons all the way up (and down) for easy nursing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

