Ladies who need to lunch- fast recipe for pan bagnat

More often than not, lunch for me is whatever I can quickly grab out of the pantry or fridge- Noosa yoghurt, GoMacro bars, etc. But when I have the foresight and a spare 10 minutes I love making pan bagnat which literally translates to “wet bread”. Think of it as the lasagna of sandwiches, something you can make ahead of time and gets better over time.

There are lots of versions out there but they all center around yummy baguettes and layering French Mediterranean flavors. I first got hooked by a recipe from “It’s All Easy” by Gwyneth Paltrow.  (Yes, I love her and I love GOOP. Let’s not fight about it.)

For my take on pan bagnat I start with a long baguette and cut it into 4 smaller pieces then cut those pieces in half to make small sandwiches. I then layer on the following:

  • Dijon mustard- spread onto piece of the bread
  • EV Olive oil- drizzled on the other piece
  • Anchovies- they add a great salty and umami flavor. But you can skip if you hate them
  • Oil packed tuna- this is key, water packed will do. But oil packed takes it to another level
  • Sun dried tomatoes
  • Fresh basil leaves
  • Fresh sliced tomatoes
  • Salt and pepper to taste- I love to use Maldon salt because of its earthy flavor and crunch

I realize not everyone is eating tuna these days, so feel free to substitute with fresh mozzarella, which would be delicious too.

The key step is to then put the two halves together, squishing the yummy fillings together and WRAP the sandwiches IN FOIL. This will make all the flavors meld together. Then just pop into the fridge and you have an amazing meal whenever you can sneak it in!

 

 

Leave a Reply

